Pictures: Beautiful Children

This morning I was blessed with the opportunity to spend several hours at a children’s home in the area.  It’s a large orphanage with many children, ranging from birth to early teens. Many of the children that live there were left by parents that simply couldn’t afford the financial burden of raising them.  My heart broke for both these parents and their children, who were so sweet.

When I first walked in, I was immediately enveloped in a cloud of students wanting to feel my hair.  Compared to the hair typical of Indonesians – straight and black – my light, curly hair was fascinating to them.  The girls sat me down next to them for the lesson, continuing to sporadically mess with my curls throughout story time.

We sang songs as a group, told the story of Abraham and Isaac, and did a craft. I was really amazed by the kids’ artistic ability and attention to detail!

As they finished the craft, we had a bit of time to play around.  The kids loved to be in pictures and take pictures, and a few of them ended up with our cameras in hand for a while.  I taught several girls ring-around-the-rosie, and another 6-year-old and I salsa danced through the same 3 spins on repeat for a good while.

Children’s joy is so contagious – it was a great way to start the weekend!  If you have the opportunity while traveling, I would so encourage you to do something to build back into the community you are in.  It draws you closer to the place, in a way, benefits the place you are staying, teaches you something about yourself, and makes for some incredible memories!

Image

Image   Image

Image

Image   Image

Image   Image

Image

Image   Image

Image

One thought on “Pictures: Beautiful Children

Leave a Reply

