Athletics Day

Athletics Day.

Image

The best way that I can define this day for you is Field-Day-on-steroids meets twister-mat-colors.

ImageImageImageImage

One of the cool extras at SPH is the idea of house teams.  Every family involved in the school is assigned to a house team.  Said teams are named after Indonesian volcanoes; I’m part of Kintamani (red), and we do battle against Bromo (blue), Krakatoa (yellow), and Merapi (green).  Throughout the year, students earn points for their team in different competitions.  Athletics day is the first big day, followed by the soccer tournament and swimming competition.  I loved all the bright colors, so this post will have lots of pictures 🙂

ImageImageImage

Now, this is a pretty intense production.  Classes are canceled for grades 7-12 for the entire day, and the kids show off what they’ve been learning in PE class and at track practice over the last few months.  Students run in the 100, 200, 400, 800, relays and hurdles, high jump and long jump, and try their hand at the javelin and discus.  Even the teachers get out and compete – I ran on Kintamani’s teacher relay team at the end of the day!

ImageImage
Image
Image
Image Image
These two both smashed the school records – MJ (left) hurdled over the record 1.2 meters and set the new record at 145, while Nisha beat the boys record, too!

Many factors contributed to the controlled craziness of the day: students celebrated wins, broke records, and found some time for fun, as well.  At one point a group of my students was engaged in a water fight, while another group was narrating the life of a centipede they had found in their “Steve Irwin” voices.

Image Image
Image Image
ImageImage

There were a few scary moments, as well – exhausted students passing out and needing oxygen, and a random, strong wind blowing several of the tents out of ground and into students. My job was to make sure 7th grade Kintamani students were at all of the events they should be at – I was definitely kept on my toes!

Image

Finally, for the last half hour or so, we returned to our homerooms.  My kids and I debriefed, first, and talked about their favorite parts of the day and what different people had done really well at.  It was neat to hear them encourage each other and get excited!

By request, I’ve started a card games (and bananagrams) club at lunch of Fridays.  The first week – with no official announcement made and only the 7th grade invited – 30 students showed up!  My homeroom kids especially love to play, as do I!  I’ve taught them bananagrams (and they LOVE it!  English teacher dream!) and Phase 10, and in turn they taught me Chopsa, a popular game here.

Image
ImageImage

There were definitely lots of fun memories made! 🙂

Image
(My kids were complaining about taking a picture when sweaty, and “show me your excited face” got me nothing.  This was their “show me your I-don’t-have-to-run-the-800-for-another-year face.” 🙂

One thought on “Athletics Day

Leave a Reply

