Ode to Thai Pants

I have a confession to make.

Of an obsession.

Admitting it is the first step, right?

I’m in love with Thai Pants.

During our vacation in Thailand, we were able to spend some time exploring the culture and goods of markets in both Chiang Mai and Bangkok.  Having a fair amount of markets at my fingertips in Indonesia, I went in with a singular goal:  find and buy Thai pants.

Now, in case you aren’t familiar with Thai pants, let me explain to you that they are basically the most wonderful thing in the world.  They’re made of thin material and are loose and flow-y. Usually made of fun material, they cost about $5 in the market.  They function well for pajamas, house wear, wearing out or basically anything.

I not only met my buy-Thai-pants goal, but ended up walking away with 5 pairs in varied styles and colors.  My sisters ended up with 5 pairs combined, too.  When my mother and grandmother realized the excellence of our new wardrobe items, they rounded out the purchases with their own pants.

My sisters did not remove theirs, night or day, for the first 48 hours that they owned them.

I’ve been struggling with having to wear a uniform for the first time ever (like I would be able to wear Thai pants otherwise?), and have been inhabiting my comfy new favorite-souvenier-ever since I got home!

You need a pair.

You can either come to Thailand, hire a friend to smuggle them into the States for you, or wait until I get back and open up a Thai pants store.

4 thoughts on “Ode to Thai Pants

  1. Linda Chae says:

    Lauren,

    I have enjoyed your posts so much. You are a terrific writer, great photographer and very entertaining to boot! Your enthusiasm and sense of humor keep me smiling here. Keep the fun news coming (and the Thai pants)!

    Love, Linda Chae

    ________________________________

    • Thank you so much, Mrs. Chae! I so appreciate the encouragement. I definitely can’t claim the humor – most of it is thanks to these crazy students of mine 🙂 Miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

