“How old are you?”

Recently, I had the chance to hang out with one of my favorite four-year-olds.

Sometimes, when adults get too stressful and middle schoolers too complex, you just have to hang out with the fun people 🙂  Her parents went out on a date to the movies, and she and I stayed in for a princess movie night, complete with our own tiaras and popcorn.

At one point, she inquired about my age.

I answered as I always do when my students ask me this question.  “How old do you think I am?”

“I don’t know,” came her chipper reply.

“Well, do you think I’m older or younger than mommy and daddy?”
(Apparently my teacher identity is slowly seeping into and taking over my life.  I can’t give a straight answer anymore.)

“Mmm… a little younger.  How old are you?”

“I’m 105 years old.”

“Oh!  You are the same age as mommy and daddy!”

Things are so much more exciting from the perspective of a child.

2 thoughts on ““How old are you?”

Leave a Reply

