Japan: The Epic Tour [Part 1]

As I said last time, Japan has been a long time dream country to visit.

My brother got to visit Japan when he was ten, and came back raving about how wonderful it was. So for 10 long years I have been thinking about my subsequent trip 🙂

I stayed with my cousins and my aunt and uncle, and hugely benefitted from their insider knowledge of Japan and incredible hospitality.  I feel like I saw every corner of Tokyo throughout the week I was there! Here are a few highlights:

The Meiji Shrine
This Shrine, in the Shibuya area, was one of our first stops.  Almost 100 years old now, it was built in honor or an emperor and his wife and is the most important shrine in Tokyo.

Image

Image


Trying New Things
There were all kinds of crazy new foods to try!  I can’t say I’m an especially adventurous eater when it comes to my meals, but it was fun to try a few unlikely dishes.


Image

“Octopus Balls”

ImageHamburger Sushi

Japanese Elvis..es? Elvi?
At Yoyogi Park, there’s an social club that dresses up and dances like Elvis in the afternoons. They were quite entertaining!

Image

Image

The sights of Tokyo
This is an extremely impressive city, and everywhere I went I was distracted by the fascinating culture and interesting sights.

ImageHarajuku Street

ImageThe world’s largest music store

ImageThe busiest intersection in the world

Family Time
Having time with my family was such an incredible blessing.  I loved seeing Tokyo with them and just sitting around comfortably with them.  It was special to have my cousin and her family in town at the same time, too!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Ice Cream
This is a Schaeffer-worthy category 🙂  Japan’s specialty is soft cream, and it comes in all kinds of interesting flavors!  We tried cherry blossom, lavender, and even grape vinegar!

Image

Image

Image

This Guy
Enough said.

Image

Sensoji Temple
The oldest Buddhist temple in Tokyo, this place was built in the 600s!

Image

Image

Image

Sakura
These trees are honestly one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen, and they were in full bloom everywhere!  You can check out some pictures here.

100 Yen Sushi
Definitely one of the more exciting eating experiences I’ve ever partaken in.  You sit at a table, past which a conveyor belt runs, constantly bringing plates of different kinds of sushi.  You then grab whichever plates look appetizing for 100 Yen (~$1) a piece.  If there’s something particular that you want, a race car brings it to you!

Image

ImageImage

Too much for one post!  You can check out the second half of our adventures here 🙂

Leave a Reply

