Ethiopia

Talking with my dad recently, I mentioned that I wanted to find a cool layover for my trip home from Indonesia.  Being awesome, he said he would look into it – and really came through!

On the way back to the states, I had a 17 hour layover in Addis Ababa, the capital of Ethiopia and home to about 3.5 million people.  I was so blown away by the warmness of this culture and people’s eagerness to show me around and help to make it a positive experience.

A few interesting things about Ethiopia:

1. It is the oldest officially Christian country.
2. The queen of Sheba hailed from here.
3. The Italians took over here before they started in on the rest of Europe in WWII; the leader of Ethiopia predicted that the impending violence would take place.

I had a wonderful taxi driver (if you are going to Ethiopia let me know and I will hook you up!) who doubled as a tour guide.  I feel like I saw the entire city today!

We went to the Cathedral of the Holy Trinity, the university, a museum, the market (which is the largest open-air market in Africa), a traditional lunch, and an art gallery.  All on top of a lot of driving around just to see the city.

Here are a few shots from the whirlwind tour!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

3 thoughts on “Ethiopia

  1. Wow, Lauren! Looks like an amazing adventure! I taught myself how to fold a fitted sheet at home today… 😉 What is in the picture that looks like tracks? It looks almost like a running track or something…

    -kpk

Leave a Reply

