Fresh Perspectives

Last week, I was blessed to host a friend in Indonesia for the first time!

Image

I was absolutely overjoyed to have Bekah here and to be able to show her around.  She was a trooper – I still had to work a full work week, and she was awesome about embracing whatever we were doing.

We spent the weekend in Jakarta, ojek-ing around the city and visiting some of the tourist sights (that I had never been to before!)

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

We even got to touch a komodo dragon!

Image

I knew it would be wonderful to have a friend in town, but what I didn’t expect was the fresh perspective with which she gifted me.  Having lived here for over a year now, it’s easy to stop noticing the little things. Whether simply different, or comical, or good, they start to blend into the fabric of life.

I really learned a lot from the way that Bekah approached the week here. Despite the fact that she only had 7 days in Indonesia, she picked up a substantial amount of the language, chit-chatted with the guards at my building, and learned my students’ names.

She shadowed me through my normal routine, and it was as if I was watching someone else live my life.  Except that she stopped to appreciate the little things more, wondered at the culture, embraced the experiences.

I really learned a lot about the place I live seeing it through her eyes!

Here are a few of Bekah’s pictures of the beautiful things that are part of my daily life, yet I rarely stop to notice.

Image

Image

Image

Image

One thought on “Fresh Perspectives

  1. Elfriede Schaeffer says:

    Dear Lauren, How much we enjoyed the beautiful post card you sent from Viet Nam. Thank you!!! We sure missed your Mom and Dad while they were away but were so happy for them to experience some of your life there. And we LOVE your blogs. You could make your career be like the guy who tours Europe, Rick Steves, and gives the insights into the culture and people, etc. in Asia like he does for Europe!!!! You are incredibly gifted!!!!!!!!! May you use it all for Jesus’ glory. So glad you have found Him as a sweet refuge when things aren’t easy. He surely is a wonderful Savior, isn’t He? !!! Grandpa has had a cold all week so we haven’t been out on many walks like we usually try to do. The weather has been very pleasant with the temperatures going into the 80’s tomorrow. I jumped the gun and took down the screens from the windows and put away our summer clothes. Now we have to go scrounging to find something appropriate to wear. Isn’t it good how much Joy and Anna love CVCA?. The Lord used the teachers’ strike to bless them in this way. We wish you a wonderful school year with lots of laughter, fun adventures, and the sweet sense of the Lord always being at your side. Love you so, Grandma and Grandpa

Leave a Reply

