Sri Lanka: A Dream Come True

When I was young, my mom read to us all the time.  I remember sitting on the couch underneath our window, curled up reading while the rain tapped on the glass.  Some of my fondest memories are of our time cuddled up with books!

One of the books we read was called How To Make an Apple Pie and See the World.  If I’m being completely honest, I can remember close to nothing about this book.  But, I love apple pie and I love seeing the world, so apparently it had some impact on my childhood.

The only thing that I can remember about this book was that the girl making the apple pie went to Sri Lanka to get her cinnamon, and that I have had an inexplicable desire to go to Sri Lanka ever since!

I never did much research on the county or pursued a trip until I came to live in Indonesia. Now, I can proudly say that I have been to Sri Lanka.  And that I bought cinnamon there 🙂

Sri Lanka is an absolutely wonderful country.  I quickly fell in love with the climate, the people, and the breath-taking views every way that I looked.  Their civil war ended just a few years back, so, while the country is tourist-friendly, it has not yet been overrun.

We hired a driver and saw an unbelievable amount of the country in the one week that we had there.  As impressive as the destinations were, I was just as struck by the beauty along the way. But I guess that’s a bit like life, isn’t it?

The country was quaint, peaceful, and inspiring.  It will be well documented by the time that I’m done writing about it, but I wanted to first share a few of the shots that were of the moments that were expected to be more routine, of the beauty that accompanied us as we traveled from one emphasized site to another.  That is what really made the trip incredible for me!

These shots are from our car rides, our hotel rooms, and the small places we stopped along the side of the road.  What a beautiful world God has given us!

Image

Image

Our driver took us to a waterfall that was on our way to our next location.  We journeyed through the halls and down the elevator of a random hotel, ran down some steps, and ended up here!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image\

These few pictures are from our porch at the hotel that we stayed at that night.  In the rainy season, a lot more of this basin fills up with water.  It sounds like Sri Lanka would look very different in rainy season than it did when we were there in the dry season! I guess we’ll have to go back 🙂

Image

Image

One of our favorite view points was a stop along the road just after we visited a tea plantation.  I could’ve stayed sitting there all day!

Image

Image

Image

Another stop that was really meaningful to me was a precious little church that we originally stopped at because I liked the colorful tree next to it.  As we explored the area, though, we fell more and more in love with the still-functioning 1800s church.  It was an interesting perspective for me, the sense of peace and joy that came along with this place.  We visit so many temples, but I’ve toured few Christian churches.  It struck me on a much deeper level than many of the places that we go!*

Image

Image

Image

One of the most wonderful blessings of this trip was our fantastic driver, Presanna.  He is one of the kindest men that I have ever met, and absolutely bent over backwards to make our time special. If you are considering a trip to Sri Lanka (which you really should be), you simply must do it with him.  Write me a message if you’d like his information!

Image

And, as if the trip wasn’t already perfect enough, the Singapore airport (our layover) had pumpkin spice!  My life is officially complete.

Image

*Also, I want to have my wedding at this place.  I was absolutely in love with it.  Get ready for the most interesting destination wedding you’ve ever attended!

Also, a big thank you to Janna, Rachel, and Jon for sharing their pictures from this trip with me!  

Leave a Reply

