Sri Lanka: My New Identity

I’ve always secretly wished that I could don saris wherever and whenever I wanted.  I think that they are simply the most beautiful piece of clothing, and have always loved the bright colors and exciting patterns.

Therefore, traveling through a country in which everyone was sari-clad was quite exciting.  And made me jealous – I wanted a sari of my own!

So, naturally, we bought ourselves saris!  It was fun to learn about the different ways to wrap them, and I had to be quite intentional about not letting myself buy an entire collection.  I loved the whole shopping process of trying on the saris and sifting through all of the bright colors and sequins and embroidered designs.

Image

Unfortunately, we didn’t get to take any pictures while shopping and trying on our new outfits.  So, when we had a free morning next to a pretty lake, we decided to do a photo shoot!

Image

Presanna, our beloved driver, helped us figure out the process of re-sari-ing ourselves, and we had a great time parading around in our new outfits.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Everyone else seemed to enjoy it as well… we had crowds watching us, stepped into a wedding photo shoot, and conceded to pictures with a very excited group of tourists from Egypt.

Image

Image

After we changed back into clothing that we were more used to, we at lunch at a small, lake-side café.  The whole thing was very charming, and our favorite part about being on the lake up in the mountains was that it felt like fall!  Fall is one of the things that we miss the most about home, so it was a huge blessing to get to sit and enjoy the weather.

Image

We were even a bit chilly! We bundled up in our scarves, laughing about how Indonesia had dulled our midwestern I-can-survive-the-worst-of-winters edge.  Jokingly, we commented that it was probably only 70 degrees and that our blood had already thinned that drastically.  Eventually curiosity got the best of us, and we looked up on my phone what the temperature was…

Image

I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to handle Chicago again!  I’ll have to retire to Florida for the winters when I move back to the states.

This place was one of the little things that turned out to be one of the best memories!

2 thoughts on “Sri Lanka: My New Identity

    • Thanks! I totally feel you on the being-too-cold thing … I come from the Midwest, and am not sure I can ever survive one of those winters again! Enjoy the Bali weather! 🙂

Leave a Reply

