Sri Lanka: Peradeniya Botanical Gardens

While in Sri Lanka, we visited the beautiful Peradeniya Botanical Gardens.  I can’t say I’m usually much of a garden person (this may have stemmed from the time I got attacked by a hive of bees at the gardens when I was five years old…)* but I absolutely loved my time at this place!

In Jakarta, there’s not a whole lot of green.  Trees are sparse, grass more so.  You can taste the dirty air, and skies have only the faintest hints of blue… right after a heavy rain drags to pollution down with it.

During ESL class, we study a few idioms each week.  Last month, we talked about what it means to say that “absence makes the heart grow fonder.”  I believe that this is true of me and green things and fresh air and things in general that aren’t concrete**.

I found our time in these gardens to be so relaxing and rejuvenating!***  Here are some of the beautiful things that we saw.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 *For the record, I voted on NOT going to this garden and was dragged along despite.  Five-year-old me had some wisdom!

**Or some cheap, less safe form of concrete.

***And, it turns out, “visiting the botanical gardens” is not synonymous with “get attacked by a swarm of angry bees and be scarred for life”!

One thought on “Sri Lanka: Peradeniya Botanical Gardens

Leave a Reply

