The 50th Floor Does Christmas!

One of the things that has been a huge blessing to me this year is the influx of women my age.  Specifically, the four new 20-somethings that moved on to my floor.  The 50th floor of our building is now exclusively SPH single women, and I love it!  The community that has come with more people in my stage of life has been such an unexpected encouragement.

Image

Tonight, we hosted a Christmas party for everyone living in the two apartments in which the school places singles and young couples.  It was great to take a step back from the business of marking papers and planning exams to simply enjoy the people I work with.  With all of the craziness and no cold weather, it can be easy to forget that Christmas is just around the corner!

Image

We split our floor up into different sections, featuring a Photo Booth, a Christmas movie, cookie decorating, and, of course, lots of good food!  The girls who have moved in are much more cute and crafty that I am, so there were lots of wonderful, Christmas-joy-inducing decorations, as well 🙂

Image

Image

Image

Image

My parents always hosted a big party on Christmas night, and we invited in people that didn’t have family in the area.  As kids, we loved it!  We would even ask our parents to plan trips around the 25th so that we could still host our bash.  My mom would make soup and bread, and the night was always warm and cozy and full of fun and laughter.  This is my first Christmas away from my family, but having this party was a little taste of home and tradition!

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

