New Zealand: Queenstown

Queenstown was the part of our trip that I was probably the most excited for, mainly because it’s been named the adventure sports capital of the world.  I’m a total adrenaline junkie, and love anything that involves speed, flying, jumping, or falling.

Image

I mainly blame this on my father.  My dad started this trend when I was about five years old and he rented a jet-ski.  My mother was worried, naturally (we often joke that she is the reason we’re all still alive!)… but she wasn’t out on the lake with us 🙂  So, as five-year-old me urged my equally adventurous father to go “faster, Daddy, faster,” we eventually maxed out the jet ski.  And I loved every second!

Ever since, I’ve had the desire to feed that daredevil side of myself.  Whether it is bungee jumping, sky diving, white water rafting – whatever! – I thrive on thrills.  As we planned for our time in Queenstown, I excitedly searched for something new, and found something that I had always been fascinated by: hang gliding!

Image

Image

I talked Patrick and Grace into joining me, and booked an appointment for our first morning in town.  Unfortunately, when that morning arrived, it was raining and therefore hang gliding was canceled.  We rescheduled for the afternoon, and were sure things would work because the sun had come out and even the clouds had disappeared.  They canceled due to wind.  We rescheduled for the following day.  They canceled again.

Image

Overall, Queenstown was the most disappointing part of the trip for me.  This was in part due to my crushed skydiving dreams, but also to the general atmosphere of the city.  It may have been because of the New Years season, but it was a lot more crazy than the other, more relaxing cities in which we spent time.

Image

Despite spending most of our time waiting around to attempt hang gliding, we did get to see beautiful things and have some fun while we were there!  We drove up into the mountains in the area, then hiked up beyond that, which gave an incredible view.  While up high above the city, we visited Skipper’s Road, the 7th most dangerous road in the world, which was originally used by miners.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Later, we took a gondola into the mountains closer to the central part of the city, and road luge carts down.  It was a blast!  It started raining part way through our runs, making things a bit more treacherous and exciting.  The view from the top was unbelievable, allowing us to look down on the city and the water, and out onto other mountains.
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

If you’re ever in Queenstown, make sure you fit the gondola and luge into your itinerary, along with eating at Ferg Bakery, but don’t make the mistake that we did of depending on adventure sports to work out!

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

