Reading Together

Recently my friend Rachel and I were discussing our classes – incredible groups of students in the 3rd and 7th grades – and decided it would be fun to pair up and read together.  I had never done this before, since I never attended elementary school and only recently started working in a K-12 school, but have always been drawn to the idea.  Our plan was put into action yesterday, and the kids warmed up to each other within minutes.  Their engagement and concentration was really sweet!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

These girls slowly grew their crowd, attracting everyone around with their laughter.  I stopped by to check it out, and learned that they were taking turns reading.  The rule was that each person had to read in a different funny accent!

Image

Image

After the books were done, Rachel’s kids were preparing to go to lunch.  Before they left, though, her boys decided that they wanted to take on one of mine in an arm wrestling competition.  When that proved futile, they worked together toward success 🙂

Image

My first year here, the school’s focus for the year was “Welcome Home”.  That’s one of the things that I really love about working here – it so often functions as one big family.  I love that my 7th graders and these sweet 3rd graders can spend time together, and that it’s a positive influence taking place.  I love that the kids have an atmosphere in which they feel comfortable making mistakes and learning from them.  It is so neat to see them grow and learn and lead!

Leave a Reply

